Celtic Legends

Celtic Legends searching results - shop for Celtic Legends online - TOP sales, coupon codes, reviews, price comparison and discounts. Popular Halloween Costumes for Adults and Kids

  1. Celtic Tales: Fairy Tales and Stories of Enchantment from Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales

    The traditional stories of Ireland, Scotland, Brittany, and Wales transport us to the fantastical world of Celtic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the 16 stories in this compilation conjure forgotten realms and rare magical creatures in vivid prose. These timeless tales brim with wit and magic, and each one is brought to life with elegant silhouette art by Kate Forrester in this special illustrated edition."Divided into four categories-'Tricksters, ' 'The Sea, ' 'Quests, ' and 'Romance'-the 16 tales that make up this handsomely designed collection are adapted from sources originally published between 1888 and 1929, now in the public domain. Full-page silhouette-style images from British illustrator Forrester open each tale, framed within intricate borders featuring fish, gravestones, dragons, and other thematic imagery entwined with Celtic knots. Witches, selkies, fairies, and other creatures make appearances in the brisk tales, which tend toward light humor and happy resolutions. It's an absorbing introduction to the lore of Albion, but readers will also enjoy teasing out similarities between these tales and more familiar ones-the Scottish tale of 'The Black Bull of Norroway' carries echoes of 'Beauty and the Beast,' ...

    • Brand: Chronicle Books
    • ASIN: 145215175X
    • Part No: 44563046
  2. Celtic Legends: Heroes and Warriors, Myths and Monsters (Histories)

    From around 750BC to 12BC, the Celts were the most powerful people in central and northern Europe. With the expansion of the Roman Empire and the later Christianization of these lands, they were pushed to the fringes of north-western Spain, France and the British Isles. But there the mythology of these peoples held strong. The tales from Celtic myth were noted down and also absorbed into other cultures. From Roman and Christian scribes we know of characters like Morrigan the shape-shifting queen, who could change herself from a crow to a wolf, Cu Chulainn, who, mortally wounded in battle, tied himself with his own intestines to a rock so that he’d die standing up, and the Cauldron of Bran, which could restore life. Other than being fascinating in their own right, Celtic legends are of interest for the influence they had over subsequent mythologies. The story of the Holy Grail first appears in medieval romances but its antecedents can be found in the Celtic tale, the Mabinogion. Illustrated with more than 180 color and black-and-white artworks and photographs and maps, Celtic Legends is an expertly written account of the mythological tales that both fascinate us and influence other writings. 

    • Brand: Amber Books
    • ASIN: 1782743316
    • Part No: 9781782743316
  3. Welcome Home: Historic Romance of the Celtic Legends

    From the outlaw Highlander hero Rob Roy MacGregor to the tragedy of Bonnie Prince Charlie's last Jacobite Rising, the courage of Flora MacDonald, and the swashbuckling story of Morty Óg O'Sullivan, WELCOME HOME is a tapestry of the great conflicts between England and the Celtic nations. Along the way, there are stops through little known incidents that bring Henry VIII, Bloody Mary, Mary Queen of Scots, Elizabeth I, and other historical figures roaring to the page, together with stories, music, and recipes that will immerse readers into the historical battles between towering personalities. Read it through from cover to cover or jump around via the table of contents. WELCOME HOME will make you reexamine what you thought you knew about the facts in your history books as well as the characters in your favorite historical romances and novels. An engaging collection that puts historical fiction and the contemporary view of historical fact into context, perfect for readers who love Martina Boone's Celtic Legends Collection, Nora Roberts' trilogies from Scotland and Ireland, Diana Gabaldon's OUTLANDER series, Susannah Kearsley's modern gothic novels with a touch of history, or medieval or regency historical fiction featuring men in kilts. ★★★★★ PRAISE FOR LAKE OF DESTINY ...

    • ASIN: 1946773182
  4. Celtic Legends Boxed Set - Arthurian Legends, Scottish Legends, Irish Legends

    There is an enduring fascination for the tribes of the Celtic people who dominated western Europe before it fell under Roman rule. It was a time filled with colorful tales of kings, queens and warriors. Now, the legends of the ancient Celtic culture can be experienced in this entertaining and informative three-volume DVD set.

    • Brand: Kulter
    • ASIN: B000ETRA5K
    • UPC: 032031157897
    • Part No: D1578
  5. Celtic Myths and Legends (Celtic, Irish)

    This splendidly illustrated study by the distinguished Celticist T. W. Rolleston masterfully retells the great Celtic myths and illuminates the world that spawned them. Focusing principally on Irish myths, the book first takes up the history and religion of the Celts, the myths of the Irish invasion and the early Milesian kings.What follows is pure enchantment as you enter the timeless world of heroic tales centered around the Ulster king Conor mac Nessa and the Red Branch Order of chivalry (Ultonian cycle). These are followed by the tales of the Ossianic cycle, which center on the figure of Finn mac Cumhal, whose son Oisín (or Ossian) was a poet and warrior, and the traditional author of most of the tales. Next comes a summary of the Voyage of Maeldūn, a brilliant and curious piece of invention that exemplifies the genre of "wonder-voyages" — adventures purely in the region of romance, out of earthly space and time. Finally, the author recounts a selection of the myths and tales of the Cymry (Welsh).In these pages, readers will delight in the favorite and familiar tales of Cuchulain, King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, the Grail, Deirdre, and many more figures that haunt the shadowy, twilight world of Celtic legend. The magic of that world is further brought to l...

    • Brand: imusti
    • ASIN: 0486265072
    • UPC: 800759265077
    • Part No: illustrations
  6. Lake of Destiny: A Scottish Legends Romance (Celtic Legends Collection)

    Helping her aunt organize a festival in the Scottish Highlands where Rob Roy MacGregor once lived seems like the perfect escape from Anna Cameron's broken engagement. But to succeed in aiding the cash-starved community, she'll have to wrangle kilt-wearing Highlanders, dangerous sheep, and the reclusive film star who refuses to open his property to the public for the ancient tradition of "Sighting." To locals, the glen has always been known as a "thin" place, one where the veil between worlds peels back on Beltane morning to reflect the face of a person's true love in the loch. The tradition could draw tourists by the busload--but that's exactly what Connal MacGregor doesn't want when he's desperate to keep himself and his daughter out of the public eye. Struggling to mediate between Connal and the needs of the village, Anna finds herself falling in love with all of it: Connal and his disfigured daughter, the villagers, and the magical glen. But opening the "Sighting" to strangers reveals generations of secrets and exposes deep scars in both Anna and Connal. Confronting those wounds could finally set them free to love--or endanger their every chance of happiness. Perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon's historical Scottish romances, Nora Roberts' trilogies, Susanna Kearsley's gothic r...

    • ASIN: B01N4WMDDM
  7. Popular Celtic Legends Reviews

    Exploring Celtic Mythology: Creatures in Celtic Mythology

    Celtic Legends

    Artwork is a little all over the place, and likely so is my pronunciation, but definitely some interesting stuff here. Celtic Myths and Legends on Amazon: https://amzn.to/2rHJHgb Support the Patreon to see Exploring videos early and vote on new ones!: http://bit.ly/1U9QkPh Join the Discord!: https://discord.gg/eBHHHe5 Support the Series with official Merch!: https://t.co/aH0HApXp7v Follow me on Twitter for updates!: https://twitter.com/TES_Mangg Exploring Celtic Mythology Playlist: https://b...

    4 Creatures of Celtic Legend — Celtic Folklore Month

    Celtic Legends

    Subscribe! ➤ http://tinyurl.com/ho9cl6s With music by Adrian von Ziegler ➤ http://goo.gl/5ehmBQ In the spirit of St. Patrick's day, we talk a little about our favorite creatures from Celtic folklore. There are so many though--we couldn't possibly fit them all into this video. So every day for the rest of the month we'll be sharing one creature or legend of Celtic origin on our websites. Visit our Facebook, Twitter, or Tumblr for more! Join the community! Share your stories and writing with ...

    Irish Myths & Legends - Full Documentary

    Celtic Legends

    The mythology of pre-Christian Ireland did not entirely survive the conversion to Christianity. However, much of it was preserved in medieval Irish literature, though it was shorn of its religious meanings. #DocuGods This literature represents the most extensive and best preserved of all the branches of Celtic mythology. Although many of the manuscripts have not survived and much more material was probably never committed to writing, there is enough remaining to enable the identification of ...



Costumoid.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or one of its affiliates.